skip navigation

RSL AZ UPSL Announces Open Tryouts| March 17, 2024

By RSL AZ, 03/11/24, 10:15AM MST


PHOENIX (Monday, March 11, 2023) -- RSL AZ UPSL, 2023 Spring Division 1 Arizona Conference Regular Season Champions, kicks off its third season in April and has announced open tryouts for interested players in the Phoenix metro. 

Click here to register for the RSL AZ UPSL Tryout

Tryout Details

Date: Sunday, March 11
Location: Scottsdale Prep (16537 N 92nd St., Scottsdale)
Time: 5:00PM - 7:00PM
Cost: Free
Age: Players must be 17+ years old

The UPSL, founded in 2011, is the largest and most competitive pro-development league in North America with nearly 400 teams competing nationwide. Last season, the RSL AZ UPSL team won the league title after posting a 7-1-2 record with 24 goals scored and 11 conceded. 

This year's team will again be led by RSL AZ UPSL head coach Carlos Juarez who has more than 30 years coaching experience and was on the coaching staff for the U.S. Men's National Team from 2011-2016 as the Chief Scout. Additionally, he served as an assistant coach for Major League Soccer's Chivas USA and as the head coach for the Women's United Soccer Association's San Diego Spirit. 

"We're looking forward to another successful UPSL season. It provided a fantastic opportunity for our players to get experience competing in higher quality matches. Current RSL AZ players, RSL AZ alumni, and players in the Phoenix area will benefit greatly from yet another season in UPSL."

Christopher Behler, who is the RSL AZ Elite Academy North Director, will also assist with coaching duties. Before RSL AZ, Behler was the head coach as San Jose State University from 2003-2015 and as a player he won the US Open Cup with San Jose Oaks Soccer Club. 

About the UPSL
Founded in 2011, the United Premier Soccer League now stands as the largest and most competitive pro-development league in North America. The league was started in Santa Ana, California by Leonel Lopez, with 10 teams. Today the league has nearly 400 clubs competing nationwide, and the Premier Division for Spring 2022 has 255 clubs competing for 32 places in the National Playoff Bracket to become National Champion.